top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMA Developer

Mechanized Assault Backstory

For the first post on this website I thought I'd give some insight into the creation of Mechanized Assault. The project idea first came to fruition back in February 2017 after 3D modeling the first every version of the DASH Frame which is attached below.


 

From here I kept modeling more stuff for the game, this includes an early SMG, the Titan and Assault frame. From there I decided to start on an early Unity project with the small amount of programming knowledge I had at the time. The test project was crude but there was a menu and a weapon selection system. Following that test there was a second build of the game created during the time of Nov 2017 - December 2017. Mechanized Assault had a team of 5 people working on the game for 6 weeks. The project was in my eyes a success and showed a basic foundation for the game, be it once again, rather crudely. Finally moving into where we are today, around early April 2018 while working on 'Afros Never Die' as a programmer I immersed myself once again in Mechanized Assault. At this point I was committed from there all of the frame went into a revision stage and were modified into what is in the game today. This also meant all of the weapons that were created for the game also were modified and even rebuilt into their current state. Now it's a big push to get the project into a workable prototype. This needs to be prefaced by the fact that the game was re built from the ground up during May 2018-September 2018. Learning more about Unity animations and blend trees to have a more fluid animated movement system. In this time the movement system took a big overhaul, taking a combined 5 months to get to a point of being happy with it. Now that it would be roughly September 2018 production can go into full swing for me. Since it hasn't been mentioned yet this is actually a final year college game development project. Once the semester started my game idea was approved and I could continue my work with very little backlash/blockage outside from school work. It was also at this time that I was able to learn the 3D modeling and texturing skills I use today during an internship at SkyTank Labs. Using a combination of MODO and substance painter I eventually worked my way into making stuff like this other mecha for a SkyTank Labs project shown below.

Pretty nice, huh?


 

Now that I have more skills I was able to continue doing more work and focusing on the game, currently having all 3 frames implemented, 7 different weapons, 3 shoulder weapons, working enemies, it's all there! I have arrived at a point in my development process where I will adding my last few big things over from now till mid January 2019. From then on I move into a polish and juice phase of the process. Hopefully coming to a release point in May 2019. Please stay tuned and provide moral support because things are gonna ge

t good!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page